Chapter 68 The King’s demand

PearlThe King fixed His eyes upon the Princess, making an outrageous demand. “Tell Isaac of the choice you made.” She pulled back, shook her head vehemently and replied “Oh, no. No!  I would rather die. Please do not ask me to do that. Come and kill me now.”

He did not let her run far. He got in front of her, saying “You must. Give him that chapter. If he is on the same page, he should know.” “NO! I cannot” she shouted. The King insisted, so she clapped her hands over her ears and ran from Him, going “La la La la La la, I can’t hear you!” “Yes you can, and I am waiting!” He called after her. She had a terrible weekend. The King’s voice nagged at her.  At church, the teaching was about ‘presumption’.

She avoided Isaac.  At the end of the service, she found she could not even walk past him, instead choosing the side door as an exit. Isaac sent her a message, “Are you still talking to me?” Feeling tortured, she did not reply.

The King got in front of her, stern and unyielding, His eyes flashing. “Who gives you breath? Who governs your Kingdom? Who gave you that promise? Who gives you this gift of story-telling and interpretation of signs? Who brought Isaac onto your path? It was I, and I require your obedience and your trust. Now do it!”

The argument raged on. “You are killing me. I would rather have my teeth pulled” she said out loud, as she went to collect her daughter Princess Nicole. When she arrived at the place where her daughter was staying, her friend’s mother told her she was applying for a job at a dentist’s surgery. Then the mother said her daughter was having her tooth pulled. The King stood there with eyebrows raised, tapping His foot and waiting. He knew how obstinate the Princess could be.

Forced to pay attention to the warning sign, she surrendered, and that night sent the chapter off to Isaac. She did it in such a way that if he chose, he could just treat it as a story.

pearl-great-price“I am afraid that he will trample the pearls underfoot, the way the Minstrel did” she groaned, worried.  “He won’t” the King replied, telling her a story;
The kingdom of heaven is like a merchant seeking beautiful pearls, who when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he had and bought it.” Matthew 13:45

“He is not a pig” the King reassured the anxious Princess.  He has been waiting for you for a long time, and like the merchant in my tale, he will know the value of the pearl.”

The next day, Isaac got straight back to the Princess.  The first thing he said was this; “Read this first – about presumption. God is infallible. What God shows me, and what I believe don’t always match. Therefore I have to go back to what He shows me, for clarification of His will and direction. I’m human and prone to make mistakes, especially when it is something “I” want”. Isaac smiled.  Bemused by the story, he said “Take what you want out of this and leave the rest.”  He added “The message about presumption really spoke to me. I suspect it spoke to you as well”.

PresumptionWho can discern his errors? Acquit me of hidden faults.
Also keep back your servant from presumptuous sins;
Let them not rule over me; Psalm 19

Very interested in what she had given him, Isaac sorted through the pearls, asking;
Prince Mentor and Isaac, are they the same person?
Prince Mentor and Isaac, do they fill the same role?
Is the Chosen the same as Prince Mentor and Isaac?
Yes, no, and the Princess replied, throwing the King a mock scowl.

Isaac said “it was an impressive answer to prayer”. He came back with another question about the role Isaac would play; “So am I to understand that Prince Mentor / Isaac and the Princess will be united some way in the Kingdom?” The Princess chose not to reply.

Isaac continued “Ever since things started happening with Claudia, a long time before you came along, I have asked and prayed for the King’s will to be done. I don’t necessarily understand what is happening, but I do know His will is being done. If you think he has shown you certain things keep them to yourself, and let Him do the work.”  He did not need to tell her to keep things to herself.  Smiling, the Princess replied “I can assure you, He will have to.  I just want to get back to my comfort zone.”

pearl1Happy with her, the King said
“Listen, O daughter, consider and give ear:
Forget your people and your father’s house.
The King is enthralled by your beauty;
Honour Him, for He is your lord.” Psalm 45:10-11

The Princess bowed before the King, saying “And I know that in all things you work for the good of those who love you, who have been called according to your purpose. For those you foreknew you also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of your Son, that we might be the firstborn among many brothers and sisters. And those whom you predestined, you also called; those you called, you also justified; those you justified, you also glorified. What, then, shall I say in response to this? If God be for us, who can be against us?” Romans 8:28-30.

One thought on “Chapter 68 The King’s demand

  1. Pingback: The matchmaker | The Kingdom

Leave a Reply

