The Kingdom – Here be Dragons

But mark this: There will be terrible times in the last days. People will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, boastful, proud, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, without love, unforgiving, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not lovers of the good, treacherous, rash, conceited, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God— having a form of godliness but denying its power.  Have nothing to do with such people.

They are the kind who worm their way into homes and gain control over gullible women, who are loaded down with sins and are swayed by all kinds of evil desires, always learning but never able to come to a knowledge of the truth.  Timothy 3:1-9

I read this and went ouch!  I had been one of those gullible women.  I will point out that the ones who are always learning without arriving at the truth are the narcissists, people who are lovers of themselves.

The King told me that in the centuries that He gave His words through men, He could not always do much about the tone or delivery.  His servant, the apostle Paul did not mince his words.  He was a Hebrew of Hebrews; in regard to the law, a Pharisee.  

He told me to take hold of His words with all of my heart, not just the bits of the Bible I liked.

Then he taught me, and he said to me,
    “Take hold of my words with all your heart;
    keep my commands, and you will live.
Get wisdom, get understanding;
    do not forget my words or turn away from them.
Do not forsake wisdom, and she will protect you;
    love her, and she will watch over you.

The beginning of wisdom is this: Get wisdom.
    Though it cost all you have,get understanding.  Proverbs 4

Here’s the truth from my own life.  My parents were not there for me in my childhood, and I had unmet needs.  I learned to ignore them, until the feeling of loss became too great.  Years later a friend who became my mentor taught me that if you bury your feelings, you bury them alive.  There are those who with great care will discern where you are vulnerable, to gain your trust so they can manipulate and exploit you. I ended up with a narcissist.

I believe we all have a desire to be loved, respected and cherished.  Its who and what we attract with that need.  Guard your heart.

Above all else, guard your heart,
    for everything you do flows from it.  Proverbs 4

3 thoughts on “The Kingdom – Here be Dragons

  1. i am sorry to hear about your childhood. well, my parents did not cared about my existence either, being the fifth child of six, that too a girl in india can be a really messy affair but i am lucky that indian society is quite well knit, so we dont feel so lonely and vulnerable like you all, i have seen so many movies about lonely kids and felt their pain deep in my heart.

    i am happy that you had the power to tread on the right path.

    Like

    • Hi Sharmishtha, Thanks for what you have said. I’m from the same sized family. I hope you parents are glad you’re here now! You should look into publishing that poetry as you have a real gift.
      The ability to get on the right path came not from me but “The King”, the one I’m writing about. He deserves the praise 🙂
      ‘Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.’ 2 Corinthians 1:4
      Without Him I would have tried to solve the problems myself, and I wasn’t doing very well at that. We are told to help others with the same help we received ourselves, so for me its like one beggar showing another beggar how to find food – not that we have beggars here, but I liked the analogy.
      God bless, Jo

      Like

  2. Pingback: Trouble | The Kingdom

Leave a Reply

