The house of the Lord

Psalm 122

As a divorced woman bringing up two children alone, I was not sure where I fitted in church, and asked the King for guidance.  He led me through a friend (princess Eve in the story) to a home church, a small, mobile unit in the worldwide body of Christ that practised hospitality and met every Sunday evening at a different house.  I believe this church fitted the model described in the New Testament.  My children and I had no problem fitting in and soon felt right at home.  This church became a safe haven for me, a place where Silver-tongue did not want to be, nor did I ever invite him or include him.

One night in 1996 we met at the house of the pastor.  Their house was built on the side of a hill overlooking the sheep farm where I had grown up, in the beautiful valley that led to the Mount Zion sheep station.  After the shared meal, the pastor sat down to teach as the evening sun folded into the familiar hills and the sound of our children playing outside filtered into the house.  My eyes ran over the rugged hills of my old farm where the occasional bleat from the sheep travelled to my ears.  Even though years had passed since I had been to the valley, and I had travelled far, to be back was sweet and familiar.

We opened our bibles to Psalm 122, the psalm that followed the verses in 121 “I lift mine eyes to the hills”.  The psalm spoke of the house of the Lord, and Jerusalem built as a city that is compact together.   Our Pastor led us to 1 Peter 2 and explained that the house of the Lord was not a building of bricks and mortar, but of human beings described as living stones.

As you come to him, the living Stone – rejected by humans but chosen by God and precious to him – you also, like living stones, are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood, offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ”.  1 Peter 2:4

Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God—this is your true and proper worship. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is – his good, pleasing and perfect will.  Romans 12

I really wanted to know what God’s will was.  Would it be okay to one day be able to marry again?  Is the King the God of second chances?  In the next chapter of the Kingdom, the King revealed his will.

One thought on “The house of the Lord

Leave a Reply

