The Fear of the Lord, and the Good-O-Meter

MouthI notice being on holiday I relax and my language improves.   In the workshop there are lots of colourful words I can and do use if I’m having a particularly frustrating day.  I’ve made a new years resolution to try not to swear as much when I’m feeling frustrated. So, I’m not perfect , but I do have two rules; 1) only swear at an object, and 2) don’t use the words “Jesus Christ”.  We don’t do it in our house, we have too much respect for the King – before who every knee will bow and every tongue confess that He is Lord.  Romans 14:11

I am surprised at the common use of  the Name as a curse or swear word.  I have a friend who thinks it is deliberately done by some Hollywood producers.  It wouldn’t surprise me if there is a deliberate agenda to blaspheme the King and ridicule us, His followers.

Why aren’t the other religions singled out in the same way?  I believe it is because it is the truth which gets attacked.  I wonder what would happen if they did try the same thing with the gods of other religions?  Yeah, that would be a riot.

They have no fear of him, or the third commandment “You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain, for the Lord will not hold him guiltless who takes his name in vain.”  Exodus 20:1-17

As an aside, you can email the studios and tell them to stop, using their language – money.  They will stop if they get enough email from people who aren’t going to spend money at the box office to hear blasphemy and cursing.  http://www.hollywoodandgod.com/movies.php

The “Fear of the Lord”  is deep respect.  The knowledge of God is bound up in this respect.  He needs to be approached as a King.  For those who accept Him, He is a Father – and no parent is going to have a heart to heart with a kid who is swearing at them.  This is just one small aspect of the Fear of the Lord.

The secret of the Lord is with those who fear Him, and He will show them His covenant. Psalms 25:14

The Good-o-meter

Another area where people don’t fear God is where it comes to death.  Some people tell me that they think they’re going to heaven because their good deeds outweigh their bad.  Are you one of these hopeful people?  If good works could save us, why did the King give His life for ours at the Cross?  Here’s my advice, fear the Lord, and don’t rely on good deeds to save you.  

If you really want to know just how good you have to be to get into the Kingdom of heaven, here’s the Good-O-Meter.

Leave a Reply

