Prayers, Petitions, and Princesses

After I found the Lord and rid myself of “Silver-tongue” the abuser , I found myself alone with my children.  I took stock of my changed life and looked around me.  Who could I trust?  I now walked a different path from the one that led me to ruin.  I needed to find friends who were walking the same road, or find my way alone.  “White Flower” had also asked the King to teach her His paths.  She lived just down the street and became a close friend.  It seemed natural to get together over coffee and pray, while our kids played together.

We hadn’t a clue how to pray together though, or what to pray.  The Lord told me to “pray the Word”.  I took it to mean find appropriate scriptures and then pray them in the context of the situation.  The King would speak a verse, and off we’d go to find it.  Back then, I did not have Bible software or a concordance.  My Bible got very well thumbed.  I wore out two paperback Bibles in six years, the first was the ‘Good News’ and the second was the ‘NIV’ translation.

We would come back to him with our petitions, speaking His word.

For example I prayed the Word in Psalm 25;

Show me your ways, Lord,psalm-25-v_452
    teach me your paths.
Guide me in your truth and teach me,
    for you are God my Savior,
    and my hope is in you all day long.
Remember, Lord, your great mercy and love,
    for they are from of old.
Do not remember the sins of my youth
    and my rebellious ways;
according to your love remember me,
    for you, Lord, are good.      Psalm 25:4-7

I found that praying the word is a great way to go to the Lord, using His own words.  The King honours His word.

Sometimes you’ll see the Princess in the Kingdom, praying to the King using the Word.  The faithful King responds in kind.

Leave a Reply

