A vision, and the promise

Every promise

When I was still in an abusive relationship, the Lord told me that I would be married again and He would choose my future husband (Chapter 5).  I wondered whether it was just me reading Isaiah 62 and indulging in too much wishful thinking.  It seemed a very Eastern concept, but I went with it because I would never have dreamed that up, and it gave me hope for the vacuum I would soon find myself in after leaving my abuser.

Months later, I had a conversation with the Lord about it while in a quiet moment writing my Kingdom story.  I had been reading my Bible and praying for guidance.

The King asked me to list the attributes of the husband he was choosing for me.  I was in the Kingdom at the time and thought I was just writing a story.  So I wrote stuff about a prince who had slayed dragons, could make me laugh, and was good with my children.  I left it to one paragraph.

If you are a believer, and the King gets you involved in a choice He is making – then be specific, be really, really specific, because I can tell you now that He is a God who keeps his promises.  If you get an opportunity like that, cross every t and dot every i!

You may have to wait a while for the promise to be realised because God’s timing is not our timing.  For Him, a thousand years is as a day.  So if He says “wait a minute”, it’s hardly reassuring, but be patient and endure temptation.  God blesses those who patiently endure testing and temptation. Afterward they will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.  James 1:12

I met the man who was to become my husband shortly after this chapter but had to wait 7 years before we were brought together.  He had been very specific about what He wanted in a wife.  The wishes that He gave to the Lord covered both sides of a foolscap page of paper.

I matched everything except height.  He wanted a woman who was the same height, and I wanted to fit under his chin, although I hadn’t written that down.  So I told him I should have won on that point, because he got two pages while I only got one paragraph.  I’m happy about the Lord’s choice and it really doesn’t matter about what I didn’t get to write.  He matched on everything I did write.

My only grumble would be in the romance department.  On Feb 14th I jokingly said “Its Valentine’s day, what will I be getting?”  We celebrate our anniversary a week later so it’s no big deal.  He’s got a goofy American guy who has been in NZ since he was 13, and his reply was “my dinner”.  Yes, he makes me laugh.

Leave a Reply

