Chapter 12 View from the Mountain

View from the Mountain“Show me your ways, Lord, teach me your path” the Princess asked, as she followed after the King, adding as she read the truth in His book; “Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.”

Wilful and unlearned, sometimes she lost her way and stumbled. His voice always brought her back, and she would ask forgiveness of Him for not following or accepting His instructions.

“Remember, Lord, your great mercy and love, for they are from of old.
Do not remember the sins of my youth and my rebellious ways;
according to your love remember me, for you, Lord, are good.”      Psalm 25:4-7

One day the King brought her to the top of a mountain, and she sang,

I see the King standing on the Mountain
I see Him clearer each day
I see the King standing on the Mountain
And He says ‘Prepare Ye the Way’.”

As she joined the King on the mountain top along the path of wisdom, she looked back at the way she had recently come, through the Valley of Shadow. Below and behind her was the rough terrain of the crooked path, which had gone nowhere except the desert.  There, she had wandered alone in the wilderness.  The path from the desert skirted the bad-lands, and then it snaked up into impassable mountains that could be seen in the shadowy distance.  After the enemy attacks along the road, the King had delivered her out of the enemy’s hands to lead her onto the right path.    It was here that she paused.

The King stood by her side and said “I have stopped you here before I lead you on to acknowledge you and to encourage you. When you started out with Me, I fed you and carried you as a Father with an infant daughter. Now you are walking.”  It was the third year of her journey.  They smiled at each other. “You are growing up,” the King acknowledged.  She glowed in the warmth of his praise.  He sounded like a proud Father!   She thanked the King from her heart and reminded him that she could not have made the journey without Him.

“You are one of mine, called out of the fire and flood, called to be an over-comer” said the Lord. “You now have a choice. I will ask you to walk with me on hard yet interesting paths, where everything I give you will be tested. Or you can settle down under my protection and still have my blessing. Which do you choose?”  She stood and regarded her King with a smile in her eyes.  She liked the word “choose” and relished it as she replied, “I choose to learn. I choose the path of wisdom. Above everyone that I have walked with, and will yet walk with, I choose to walk with you first. I choose to take the high road, the hard yet interesting path.”

“Then who do you choose to walk with you among the men of my people?” He asked.

She smiled. “I thought, my King, that you had already chosen him” she reminded the Lord. He said “I have.  Now you must ask for him. As yet, he is out of sight. Ask, and he shall be given to you.” She thought about it and said “It is good that you promise me this, Lord. I was getting worried about how I have changed.

I’m like a shooting star
I’ve come so far
I can’t go back to where I used to be”

You have taught me to think with your mind, but this separates me from men outside of your Kingdom.  To them I would now appear strange and different, and I feared I would have to remain alone.  How can two walk together unless they have agreed? Amos 3:3

While I know I can enjoy the friendship of men who don’t know you, like them, and appreciate them, I also know I can’t marry a man who comes from outside the Kingdom.  This I have learned.

For how can I be yoked together with an unbeliever? What do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness? What harmony is there between you, my King, and the dragon Belial? What does a believer have in common with an unbeliever?”  2 Corinthians 6:14-15

Without you, Lord, I am no more righteous than an unbeliever, but my right standing before God now comes from you.  I know I can’t get right with God by keeping the law, and good deeds don’t outweigh the bad.  My own righteousness is as filthy rags.  It is your Kingdom I seek, and your righteousness.

They don’t understand God’s way of making people right with himself. Refusing to accept God’s way, they cling to their own way of getting right with God by trying to keep the law.  Christ is the end of the law so that there may be righteousness for everyone who believes.  Romans 10:3  

She paused and then asked; “I ask for one who will be my equal in your Kingdom. One who knows you, bows to you, is taught by you, understands scripture, wears armour, has conquered the dragon in bloody battles, yet laughs easily, is good with my children, and can make me laugh.” The King nodded. She said slowly “Um, Lord …”   “Yes?” the King replied, waiting.  “I know that I am not supposed to judge on outward appearances, but could he please by easy on the eye as well?” “A handsome Prince?” the King asked, raising an eyebrow. The Princess paused, wondering if the King was about to tell her not to judge on outwards appearances. “Yes, but that is the least important, and I will trust you in this.” The King smiled at her.

3 thoughts on “Chapter 12 View from the Mountain

  1. Pingback: Testing times | The Kingdom

  2. Pingback: Chapter 57 A Message from the King | The Kingdom

  3. Pingback: Leaving town, for God’s sake | The Kingdom

Leave a Reply

