Honk honk, the company we keep

GanderWithPetPigCDSCF3270-725184In the previous chapter of the Kingdom “Pearls to Pigs” the friend I called “the Minstrel”  and I went our separate ways.  I’d gone the extra mile for him, but we reached a crossroads and I chose a different road.  Before leaving the crossroads I gave him the chapters of the Kingdom, where he had appeared in the story.  I always do it for friends I am going to part company with.   Unfortunately he took if for a love story, and we did not part on friendly terms.  He read those chapters to everybody, without context.  I had been a silly goose.  I had to learn not to give pearls to pigs.  I nearly stopped writing the Kingdom story at that point, but the main character – the King, wanted me to stick with it.  If you read my story you will see how He led a badly wounded princess to a better place and I believe He wants to use the story for His purposes.

So at this point in my journey, I had suffered harm and needed healthier people to be friends with.  A companion of fools suffers harm, but he who walks with wise grows wise.  Proverbs 13:20

I kept White Flower.  She liked to gossip but had good qualities.  Walking with her was difficult – but in the end, she proved to be true.  Deborah and Kate had joined me, and now we meet the Bright One and his wife Princess Neen, who I found while traveling through “the Flatlands” (Chapter 14).  They became friends with me, and my friends.  The Bright One and Neen brought in Prince Dom.  My kids brought in “Mara” and her son from across the road.  We were all following the Lord, in a natural, non religious way.

I am glad they got into formation with me.  If I had been a goose I could not have flown on my own.

One thought on “Honk honk, the company we keep

  1. Pingback: Explaining the inexplicable | The Kingdom

Leave a Reply

