Rebuilding with the bricks others have thrown

Successful womanThe King had given me a word to “rebuild the temple”.  He meant “rebuild my life”.

For we are the temple of the living God.  As God has said; “I will live with them and walk among them, and I will be their God, and they will be my people.” 2 Corinthians 6:16

It was difficult rebuilding my life after a divorce and abusive relationship with a narcissist.  Where did I start?  Life had to go on even though I was one of the walking wounded.   I had to come to terms with myself and try and figure out what the hell had happened.  I felt like I’d had bricks thrown at me, and all I had to rebuild my life with was rubble and other people’s rubbish.

It happened because I’d lived life on other people’s terms, seeking my worth in their eyes.  Narcissists love to exploit people like that.

I lacked rule over my own spirit.

“He that has no rule over his own spirit is like a city that is broken down, and without walls” Proverbs 25:28

At this stage of the journey, I needed boundaries.  I didn’t even know what the word meant.

What did I have to rebuild with?  Rubble, lots of it.  I got started with the bricks.  I have learned since then that with God, no experience is wasted.

Chapter 21 Stones deals with the vision I got from Nehemiah.  He’s a guy who in the Bible who built a wall around a shattered Kingdom.

Leave a Reply

