No experience is wasted

FriendsTo everything there is a season, and a time for every purpose under heaven,

a time a time to tear down and a time to build,
a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them …

Ecclesiastes 3-5.

In the last chapter “Stones” I began rebuilding with rubble after a destructive relationship with a narcissist, and some unhealthy friends after him.

The friend I met by a swimming pool in Chapter 13, also was going to have to tear down in order to rebuild.  She wanted the same thing for herself and her family that I did.  We began meeting over coffee and praying together with our Bibles open.  We drew inspiration from a book called “Nehemiah”, about a man who God used to build a big protective wall around a kingdom, out of rubble.  I have learned from that time that with the Lord, no experience is wasted.  I am grateful for my nightmare experience with the narcissist because it helped me understand what my friend was going through, and with the Lord’s help I came out of it stronger.  We were able to rebuild standing together, uplifting and supporting each other.

So if anyone reading this is recovering from a destructive relationship, I know what its like because I’ve been there.  With the Lord it is possible to rebuild, even if rubble is the only thing left to rebuild with.   I am blogging for you because the Lord is out there looking for you, and He will restore your soul.  That’s a promise (Psalm 23).

Chapter 22 of The Kingdom tells the story in “laying a new foundation”.

Leave a Reply

