Impatience in God’s waiting room

Romans 8-25Waiting …

Who likes waiting?

After the Lord had promised me a happy marriage some time in the future, He wanted me to wait.  The trouble was, I had trust issues.  I asked myself, why should He do that for me?  Still worldly and immature in my faith, I struggled with unbelief.

I’d want to go off and do things my way – with predictable results.

I believe how we wait depends on trust.  If we are religious we’ll obey to be accepted, not religious we’ll live as we please, and if we believe the Gospel truth about the Lord and His Kingdom we’ll be happy to be obedient.

3waystolive At times, I lived as I pleased.   The Lord had to get me to a place where I knew I was accepted by Him and be secure enough to obey Him.

In the next chapter, instead of trusting the Lord and staying by myself, I headed off into yet another relationship.  Fortunately, this relationship didn’t do me any harm, but I did invest a lot of emotional energy into something that wasn’t going to last.  Worse, I was not a good example as a follower of Jesus.  Would I do it again knowing what I know now? No.  I have learned its better to wait.  Just hang in there, and wait!  There is a promise that hangs in God’s waiting room;

eagle

Those who wait upon the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.  Isaiah 40:31    

Leave a Reply

