Do you want it more than you are afraid of it?

I’d been working ever since I was 17, and decided on a change of career after my children were born.  I spent their early years studying part time for a career in IT, while working part time as a teller at a Credit Union and part time as a Science Technician at a College .  I was a part time this and a part time that, and a full-time Mum.  In the year after I qualified, a job came up for a Systems Engineer.  After two interviews I found I also had to sit an IQ test. 

I nearly talked myself out of the job there and then.  I’d sat a similar test at the same place, the only programming shop in town, 15 years before and failed.  I didn’t want to go there again, but the Lord reminded me of what I had read in a book called ‘The Power of Positive Thinking’ by Norman Vincent Peale.

“Whatever you’re doing, give it all you’ve got.  Give every bit of yourself.  Hold nothing back.  Life cannot deny itself to the person who gives life his all.  Throw your heart over your difficulty, throw your affirmation over every barrier, throw your visualization over your obstacles.  Throw your heart over the bar and your body will follow.

I’d never get another opportunity like it, so I ran at it with all my might.  This time I passed the test ahead of all the other applicants and won the job.

That was the first hurdle over.  I overcame my fear of failure.

My advice for the first hurdle is don’t let life say no to you.  Have another go.

In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure,  – Bill Cosby.

The next hurdle was starting the job and finding I’d been given the workplace bully as a mentor.  I wish I could say I sailed over that hurdle too, and put her in her place.  I didn’t.  I didn’t confront her because abuse was familiar to me, and I needed whatever scraps of knowledge Proverbs-3:34she would grudgingly give.  I did not overcome my fear of man (Chapter 30 starts this part of the story).  We ran into each other recently, which was quite a surprise as we live in different cities and haven’t seen each other in years.  I’ve moved on.  With God’s help and a big push from Him, I gained a Diploma of Business, and now have my own business which has been running for 7 years.  Still weighing and assessing me, she could see I am happy, secure and confident.  She’s still in the same big company, worried about redundancy and her mortgage, and can’t imagine working for herself.  I’d say I’ve got a lot further in life without scorning people or throwing them under the bus at work.

God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.  Proverbs 3:34

So for the second hurdle – workplace bullying, keep calm, and believe in yourself.  Its not about you, the bully is the one who is insecure.  Nothing they say about you is true.  If you’re stuck with the bully, stand your ground and confront them.  If you can.  If you can’t, learn how to assert yourself or leave them behind, because they’re never going to stop.  Is your desire for success greater than your fear?

Decide that you want it more than you are afraid of it. – Bill Cosby.

 

In-order-to-succeed-your-desire-for-success-should-be-greater-than-your-fear-of-failure

5 thoughts on “Do you want it more than you are afraid of it?

  1. Pride comes before a fall…so may people need to try and grasp the idea of bowing low before God so that He can lift you higher and higher! Great post…

    Enjoy,
    Christian

    Like

      • My pleasure, Jo. I’m sure you will be getting the award post together in good time. I really think your blog is a very important work and contains a lot of good information concerning the gospel of Christ. Keep it going!

        Christian

        Like

Leave a Reply

