Recovery, words of wisdom from Thomas A Kempis

Thomas A KempisHere is a passage titled ‘Recovery’ from The Imitation of Christ, an illumined 13th century book by Thomas A Kempis, a German monk who obviously knew and loved the King.  

My child, I am the Lord who “protects his people in times of trouble” (Nah. 1:7).  Come to me whenever you have a problem.  I could help you much faster if you were not so slow in turning to prayer, but you try everything else first.  Remember that I am the one who rescues those who trust in me. You will find no lasting help in any other source.

Now that you have caught your breath and your trouble has passed, recuperate in my mercies.  I stand near to repair all damage and to make things better than before.  Is anything too hard for me?  Where is your faith?  Stand strong in me.  Have patience and courage, comfort will come in time.  Wait.  I will come to you with healing.

Are you anxious about the future?  What will that gain you but sorrow?  “So do not worry about tomorrow; it will have worries of its own.  There is no need to add to the troubles each day brings” (Matt. 6:34).

What a waste to be disturbed or joyful about future events which may never materialise!  The Enemy will prey on your natural inclination to such anxieties.  He doesn’t care whether he deludes you to love the present or to fear the future.

“Do not be worried and upset; do not be afraid” (John 14:27).
When you think you are far from me, I am frequently quite near.  When you feel that all is lost, sometimes the greatest gain is ready to be yours.  Don’t judge everything by the way you feel right now.  If, for a while, you feel no comfort from me, I have not rejected you.  In fact, I have set you on the road to the kingdom of heaven.

It is better for you to experience a little adversity than to have everything exactly as you choose.  Otherwise, you may become mistakenly self-satisfied.  What I have given, I can take away, and I can return it back again when I please.  When I give something to you, it is on loan; when I take it back, I am not asking for anything that is yours.  “Every good gift and every perfect present comes from heaven; it comes down from God” (James 1:17).

“I love you just as the Father loves me; remain in my love” (John 15:9).   That is what I said to my beloved disciples, and you will notice that I sent them out into the world, not to enjoy earthly pleasures, but to do battle; not to receive honour, but to receive contempt; not to be idle, but to work;
not to rest, but to reap a harvest patiently.  Remember these words, my child.

♥♥♥

The Imitation of Christ can be downloaded as a free eBook from Project Gutenberg: http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/1653

One thought on “Recovery, words of wisdom from Thomas A Kempis

  1. Pingback: à Kempis, Thomas | Earthpages.ca

Leave a Reply

