An attack of FUD (Fear Uncertainty and Doubt)

Mark 9-24

Image from soupartdesigns.com

I have struggled with unbelief, particularly in the early days, even after I found the Lord and heard what He’d promised me.  On one particular occasion the Lord dealt with my lack of trust, and reminded me of the promise He’d made.   The story is told in Chapter 31 Doubt, and the King’s answer.

I think we all struggle with doubt, especially when the Lord is silent.  I copied this Word for the Day from Radio Rhema NZ, that I received around the same time I had the FUD attack.  It helped me, and it may help you or someone you know who is trying to recover from a destructive relationship.  If this helps, God bless, I know what its like and I’m blogging for you.

Rebuilding Trust

When your trust is violated, you become distrustful and you start questioning in areas you never did before.  Sometimes you can’t receive the very love you need because in defense your wounded spirit vows, “Nobody will every do that to me again.”  The real damage is not what you went through, but what you’re left with: terrible doubt.  The woman at the well had been through five broken relationships, and when she met Jesus she didn’t know that He was different.  He had to take down her defenses or she’d have missed that greatest thing that ever happened to her.

Jesus is “the same yesterday, today and forever” (Hebrews 13:8).  Even though you can’t go back, He can.  He can turn on the lights in those dark places and break the chain that binds you to memory.  “The former things shall not be remembered, nor come into mind” (Isaiah 65:17).  You don’t have to wait until you get to heaven to experience this; He can do it for you now.  But you’ll never experience a moment of what He’s promised until you learn to trust again.  Trust God, and trust the people He sends to bless you.  Yes, you’ll be disappointed.  Don’t look for perfect treatment from imperfect people.  You’ll get lots of practice in forgiving, but that’s the Christian life.

The people God can use the most are those who have been made whole in wounded places and strengthened in broken places.  Ask Him to help you take down the wall of fear and learn to trust again.

2 thoughts on “An attack of FUD (Fear Uncertainty and Doubt)

  1. Hey Jo, great article…We so often relate our trust in God with the situations that we go through in life….and yes it is hard to recover from destructive relationships. We end up having those old recordings playing in our head as to why we should not believe in anyone or God again and trusting a unseen God at those times seems impossible…But I have found that those are the times that God is carrying us, even if we don’t know it. Those are the times that God has drawn closer to us even if we don’t sense His presence….I have learned that He is a jealous God and very protective over us…even when we are battling because of our own choices. He Loves us and brings us through every storm. Thanks for sharing…God Bless You♥

    Like

    • Hi Cindy, Thanks so your feedback on my post. I’m glad you can see the struggle to recover from destructive relationships. The Lord got me to recovery but it took years. Now I’m trying to help others with the same help I received.
      You are right about the Lord being jealous and very protective over us. I didn’t know that about Him at the stage of the journey I’m blogging about, but did learn that about Him further down the road. I really appreciate your comments. God bless and I hope you are having a great weekend, Jo

      Like

Leave a Reply

