Chapter 35 The Father’s response

Romans-8-14-16

For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God. The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba,Father.” Romans 8:14

Anna, the Great-Great Grandmother of JoAnna, had known and loved the King.  Despite this, it had taken only one generation for her children to forget the King and the language she spoke.  The letters she wrote exhorting her children to trust in the King lost more of their meaning as each generation passed. 

Foreign and forgotten, after fifty years her letters came to light, translated from German into English.  JoAnna the Princess was given a copy of the letters shortly after her brother’s death, and found a strange sense of comfort in Anna’s words.

Years later, the words gained acceptance in her mind.  It was actually one word that did it; “Abba” meaning “Father”.  She remembered that Anna, her Grandfather’s Grandmother had written about the King as “Abba”, a name unheard of in her family.  It was to those to letters that she went, searching for a way home to the Father.

Anna DasslerAnna wrote; Ich bete zu den lieben Vater und rufe Abba wie ein Kind.

JoAnna said the words in English, words she could not bring herself to say on her own.  Allowing herself to be led by Anna’s words, she prayed in agreement.

I pray to the Father and shout “Abba” like a child …

“Mein Vater ist auch euer Vater”“My Father is also your Father …”
sein Vater Herz ist treu gesinnt, His Fatherly heart is loyal, (heart minded faithful)
darum halt Euch, therefore keep your
getrost an Ihm, trust in Him
und ruft nur Vater, and say Father
erhöre doch.  hear us.
Anna Dassler, Carnarvon 6th Jan 1932

Later that week she was still, holding her sword in her lap, thinking.   The word “Father” had a lot more trust in it than “Lord”. Troubled, she said to the King “Father, forgive me for my lack of faith. It seems so arrogant; you’re a King, you’re letting me know that I am your daughter, you invite me into a relationship as your daughter, and I have to decide whether to trust that?

The trouble has been that I have been accustomed to relating to you as Lord, and I thought that was where it began, and where it ends. It is a relationship where I have an idea of what to expect, and what is expected of me – but this, it’s all uncharted territory.  I want to be able to trust you as my father.”

She had been the first one in her family to come to the Lord, enduring persecution, scorn and ridicule.  Alone, the road became too hard and lonely to endure, until the day her real brother put his trust in the Lord.  Oh happy day, his company on the road meant everything, until the day the journey was interrupted by his death.  Wounded, amputated, abandoned, rejected, she had no heart to go it alone, and strayed into the wilderness, where grief became her companion.  In her mind, the words “Father” and “brother” meant grief.

Her eyes got drawn to a book that lay next to her sword called “Word for the Day”. The book had a Father holding his baby daughter on the cover.  It made her think about the King as a father.  The King came and knelt before her chair so that his beautiful eyes were on a level with hers.  She met His stare with eyes full of doubt.  “I put a message in it for you” He said.

When God waitsWhen God waits

My child, I waited for I know more than you do. I have a better plan in mind. Martha said, “If only you had been here my brother would not have died.” (John 11:21). I know you are saying that, “if only God had prevented that from happening!”

Never doubt in the dark what I have promised you in the light. Never doubt my character, or my promises, or my track record in your life … I do care about you! It may look ‘dead and buried’ as far as you’re concerned, but from where I stand, it’s just a miracle in disguise … You’re not alone today;

I feel your pain, I know your heartache, and I can be touched by the feeling of your infirmities.
(Hebrews 4:15) Whatever stands between you and your answer, “roll away the stone!” – get rid of it. Faith and unbelief don’t mix!
What I promised Martha, I promise you”; “Your brother will rise again.” John 11:23

Touched, she knelt at the feet of the King as she played Him a song from Fleetwood Mac called ‘Oh Daddy.’  Her tears fell on his feet.   “Father, please forgive me. After the dragon had slain my brother I felt that you were a weak King, a distant King who did not care enough about us to prevent this from happening. I could not forgive you.  How could I follow you, and feel that way? Yet, I did. I followed you, because I had to. I got lost and you were the only way out of the mountains. I had to follow, yet I did not fully trust you.”

Comforted, she looked up at Him with tears in her eyes. “I forgive you. I do not understand how this could have happened, but I no longer need to know why. I will trust you. I now choose to follow you because I want to, not because I have to. Even if you treat me like you did Job, I will still love you.”

The King held her as he promised “My Princess, Job got back double.”

Opening the old family Bible, the King read;

The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me,
    because the Lord has anointed me
    to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
    to proclaim freedom for the captives
    and release from darkness for the prisoners,
…. to comfort all who mourn,
and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
to bestow on them a crown of beauty
    instead of ashes,
the oil of joy
    instead of mourning,
and a garment of praise
    instead of a spirit of despair.

They will be called oaks of righteousness,
    a planting of the Lord
    for the display of his splendor.

… Instead of your shame
    you will receive a double portion,
and instead of disgrace
    you will rejoice in your inheritance.
And so you will inherit a double portion in your land,
    and everlasting joy will be yours.  Isaiah 61:7

Double rainbow

Double rainbow

She walked outside, remembering the song she had woken to that day in September 1994 after meeting the King in a dream;

I think I can make it now
The pain has gone
All of the bad feelings have disappeared …
Here is the rainbow I’ve been praying for
It’s going to be a bright, bright sunshiny day.”

Thinking about the promise in the Father’s words, she looked up.   The King had decorated the sky with a beautiful double rainbow.

2 thoughts on “Chapter 35 The Father’s response

  1. Pingback: Abba, Father | The Kingdom

  2. Pingback: Double rainbow, what does it mean? | The Kingdom

Leave a Reply

