Out of the storm

Job 38-1Have you ever asked “Where is God?”

Lt. Dan in the movie Forrest Gump certainly did, asking Forrest “where’s this God of yours then?” Forrest remarked “Its really funny that Lt. Dan said that, because right then, God showed up.”  I like the scene because this puny man is having a big fight with God.

“You lift me up to the wind and cause me to ride; And You dissolve me in a storm.”  Job 30:22

♦◊♦◊♦

 God must have answered Lt. Dan in the storm because when it ended, he was at peace, a changed man.  Sometimes, God’s answer is in the storm.  There is a scripture that says “Then the Lord spoke to Job out of the storm.  Job 38:1″  

rainbowThat’s how it happened for me.   I wasn’t as defiant as Lt. Dan, but emotionally I felt just as amputated.

In the previous chapter, Chapter 34 “The journey home to the Father” the question “where was God?” caused friction with one of my friends, but its a question I had to ask.  It is okay to question and ask God where He was.  We’ve got to be real.

Some years ago, I had my own storm.  I wasn’t able to call God “Father”, just Lord.   I believe the word “Father” has a lot more trust in it than “Lord”.  Finally, I asked God “Where were you when my only brother died?”  He answered me in Chapter 35 The Father’s response.

After God answered, I had peace, just like Lt. Dan.  Now I am able to call Him Father.

Sometimes the Lord calms the storm. Sometimes He lets the storm rage and calms the soul.

Leave a Reply

