Double rainbow, what does it mean?

Double rainbow

Here is the rainbow I’ve been praying for …

Did you ever see the video “Double Rainbow” posted by one-time MMA fighter Paul “Bear” Vasquez? 

It went viral, with millions of views.

The clip, filmed in his front yard just outside Yosemite National Park, in the U.S. state of California, chronicles his sighting of and reaction to a double rainbow.

I was one of the millions who watched it.  I thought he was a stoner and found it really funny.

He explains what it meant to him here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0VZiwmRb3xc

“I recognised I was in the presence of God.  Why does God choose to look upon me?  I realised it meant something.  God was speaking to me.  Different people see different things.”

I had my own experience with a double rainbow, where God used it for a sign.  It won’t get close on 38 million hits, but you might find it interesting.

I’d done business with God over the way He’d treated me, where I told the Lord “I do not understand how it could have happened, but I no longer need to know why. I will trust you. I now choose to follow you because I want to, not because I have to. Even if you treat me like you did Job, I will still love you.”

The Lord smiled and promised me “Job got back double.”  I walked outside, thinking about God’s promise, with the song “I can see clearly now” in my mind.

“I think I can make it now
The pain has gone
All of the bad feelings have disappeared …
Here is the rainbow I’ve been praying for
It’s going to be a bright, bright sunshiny day.”

Outside, I looked up.  God had decorated the sky with a beautiful double rainbow.

The full story is told in Chapter 35 The Father’s response.

God, Noah and the rainbow

What did the rainbow mean to God, and to Noah?

And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life.  Genesis 9:12

The natural laws

God created nature.  What can we observe in the rainbow from natural laws?

The rainbow has seven colours, red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet.

Seven is the number of spiritual perfection and occurs in a number of books throughout the Bible, especially Revelation.  There are seven parables where Jesus taught about the Kingdom, and He made seven “I AM” statements.

The bow is centered on the shadow of the observer’s head, and forms a circle at an angle of 40–42° to the line between the observer’s head and its shadow.

40 is the biblical number for probation or trial.  According to Jewish tradition the name of God had 42 letters.  The most intense light is at an angle of 42°.

Secondary rainbows are caused by a double reflection of sunlight inside the raindrops, and appear at an angle of 50–53°.

The mirror

The bands in the secondary rainbow appear inverse to the primary rainbow, violet, indigo, blue, green, yellow, orange, red.  It’s a mirror.

So I’ll leave you with the words of Paul “Bear” Vasquez;
“Look into the mirror, look into your soul!  What it means.”

If you feel God’s been hard on you, don’t be afraid to talk to Him about it.  He does care about you, and He’s always listening.

Has God ever given you a sign?  I’d be interested to hear your story.

Double rainbow all the way!

One thought on “Double rainbow, what does it mean?

  1. Pingback: When a rainbow smiles….. | Clarabelle

Leave a Reply

