The Eternity man

eternitybridgeWhat were you doing on the eve of the Millenium?  New Zealand, the country I come from, was the first country in the world to count down to the year 2000.  Despite that, I wished I could have been in Sydney for the Millenium.  Chapter 41 Millenium tells the story.  Sydney has a special place in my heart, for me it was a place of refuge, of healing.  It was the place where I first heard words of praise and affirmation.  It tore my heart out to have to leave.  Now I was on the other side of the Tasman, over 2,000 kilometers away, living in small town NZ.  I had to content myself with watching it happen on TV.

Arthur Stace

Arthur Stace writing the word ‘Eternity’ on the streets of Sydney

I saw the Sydney Harbour Bridge, which I used to travel over every day for work, lit up with the word ‘Eternity’.  What did this word mean to the city of Sydney?

There is a King whose throne was established long ago; he is from all eternity.  Psalm 93:2

In 1930, the King saved a drunk called Arthur Stace.  This man could barely write, yet for ever after encountering the Lord, he went and wrote “Eternity” on the streets of Sydney, in beautiful copper plate writing.

Here is his story:

What does the word Eternity mean for you?

Did you know that God has set eternity in the hearts of men?  Have you ever thought about it?

It is written; God has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. Ecclesiastes 3:11

The things I experienced in Sydney I did not get to keep on my arrival back to NZ.  I did not receive the things promised, I only saw them and welcomed them from a distance.  On Earth I am a foreigner and stranger.  If I had been thinking of the country I had left, I would have had the opportunity to return.  Instead I long for a better country – the one where the King has His throne.  He has prepared a city for us there.  Hebrews 11:13-15      

Just as the Sydney Harbour bridge provides the way to North Sydney, Jesus’ death provides they way home to the Father, and to a city even more beautiful than Sydney – if we just travel that road.

Leave a Reply

