Finding the wind

Plans Proverbs 19-21Have you ever left like your life was going nowhere?  I call it “the doldrums”.

The scripture I found described it thus;

Your rigging hangs loose:

The Mast is not held secure,

The sail is not spread.” Isaiah 33:23

Colloquially, according to the Wiki, the “doldrums” are a state of inactivity, mild depression, listlessness or stagnation.

My doldrums were caused by me grieving over the place I’d left, and wanting my way over God’s way.  We can go our own way and have all of our plans come to nothing.

Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails.  Proverbs 19:21

The story is told in Chapter 44 The Doldrums.

I had to find God’s will for my life, accept it, and let Him lead me out of the doldrums.

For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God.  Romans 8:14

God is like the wind.  You can’t see Him, but He can be felt.  His will is similar.  He will reveal it through His word in the Bible, or dreams, or signs, circumstances or people.  Sometimes its a combination of all of these.  The day eventually came when I found the wind.

The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.”  John 3:8

John 3-8

Leave a Reply

