Chapter 48 His purpose will stand

divine1The Princess wondered why this foreign man had come into her life.  Had he been summoned for the King’s purpose? She remembered a promise the King had made not five years before;

I say my purpose will stand
And I will do all that I please
From the east I summon a bird of prey
From a far off land,
A man to fulfill my purpose,
What I have said,
I will bring about;
What I have planned,
That will I do.  Isaiah 46:10-11

The day for rebuilding your walls will come,
The day for extending your boundaries.
In that day people will come to you
From Assyria and the cities of Egypt,
Even from Egypt to Euphrates
And from sea to sea
And from mountain to mountain.”  Micah 7:11-12

The Princess had a lot of questions.  Thinking the King had spoken of Ishmael, she asked “Why did you tell me about this eastern man from a far off land, and then bring him into my life, when you knew he was a bird of prey?  Father, why did you allow the temptation?” she asked, doubt in her eyes.

“You asked for him” The King answered.  “When did I do that?” she asked, frowning.  “You asked for someone who saw you for who you really are and desired you” the King reminded her, adding “That is why I said, be careful for what you ask.  I made sure he wasn’t there for long.”

No temptation has seized you except what is common to man.
And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear.
But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it”.
1 Corinthians 10:13

She had to agree. The King had quickly moved him out of her life and put the Tasman between them. “It was just as well” she thought and muttered “Thank God.”

Leave a Reply

