Chapter 50 Wellspring

jesuswell“Oh, God, no” the Princess groaned.  The King wanted her to tell the workplace chaplain about Ishmael.  Afraid, she made a silent deal with the King.  “If he comes out of that office right now and heads over to my desk, I will talk to him”.

Immediately the King fetched him.  “Oh, bother” she groaned but kept her side of the bargain.  He was a good man and she trusted him.  “I must speak to you privately about something.”  She met him in her own time outside of the office and told him what had happened.  Prince Robert listened carefully and they prayed about the matter.  She felt she was in a safe place, and a sense of relief at being heard.

He called to mind a poem that spoke of her situation;

“There’s A Hole In My Sidewalk”

Chapter One
“I walk down the street.
 There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
 I fall in.
I am lost… I am helpless.
 It isn’t my fault.
 It takes forever to find a way out.

Chapter Two
I walk down the same street.
There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
I pretend I don’t see it.
I fall in again.
I can’t believe I am in the same place.
But it isn’t my fault.
It still takes a long time to get out.

Chapter Three
I walk down the same street.
 There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
 I see it is there.
 I still fall in… it’s a habit.
 My eyes are open.
 I know where I am.
 It is my fault… I get out immediately. 
 
Chapter Four
I walk down the same street.
 There is a deep hole in the sidewalk.
 I walk around it.

Chapter Five
I walk down another street."  by Portia Nelson

“Where are you on this journey” He asked.  “I am somewhere between hole number three and four” she replied ruefully.  “It could have been worse he reassured her.  “You stumbled, but you did not fall.”

“Would you like to walk a different road?” he asked.  She nodded.  He introduced her to his wife Princess Linda, who was running a course in the Kingdom called ‘Search for Significance’, a safe place where women could go to learn more about the Father heart of God.  In the beginning God created men and women in His image, to be in His family, but after the the fall they became estranged, and disinherited.  It got worse with each generation.  Instead of being a father, God became a judge.  In His attempt to be reconciled, He sent His son the King to save them.

John3_16At times the Princess had wondered why the King bothered with her, and with these thoughts doubt would follow.  It helped the Princess better understand the Father of the King.  She learned how much people mattered, how great the value of every life to Him, and the lengths He would go to save them.

One night, led by Princess Linda, they came to the well at Samaria, a desert well where they saw the King talking to a Samaritan woman.

“When a Samaritan woman came to draw water, Jesus said to her, ‘Will you give me a drink?’

She replied “I am a Samaritan woman. How can you ask me for a drink?” (for Jews do not associate with Samaritans).

Jesus answered her ‘If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water’.

‘Sir’, the woman said, ‘you have nothing to draw with and the well is deep. Where can you get the living water? Are you greater than our father Jacob, who gave us the well and drank from it himself?’

Jesus answered ‘Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.’

The woman said to him, ‘Sir, give me this water so I won’t get thirsty and have to keep coming back here to draw water.’

He told her, ‘go, call your husband and come back.’

‘I have no husband’ she replied.

Jesus said to her, ‘You are right when you say you have no husband.  The fact is, you have had five husbands, and the one you now have is not your husband. What you have said is quite true”.  John 4:7-18

The Princess understood where they were going with the teaching.  The King had already taken her there after her encounter in the desert with Ishmael.  “With joy you will draw water from the wells of salvationshe heard the King promise.  The Princess smiled.  The King had given her a place to head for on her map.

Instead of reflecting back on what they were being taught, the Princess asked “Where is the well of Salvation?”  Princess Linda groaned, thinking she had gone off on a tangent.  The Princess realised she had been given a private revelation, and went back to knowledge, to show she understood what was being taught; “I can see that the Samaritan woman wasn’t sure what the living water was that Jesus spoke of, but she wanted what He offered.  She walked alone and no longer wanted to keep coming back to Jacob’s well, a place where she was not welcome, to draw water.  I know that like her, only the King can meet our thirst.”

Leave a Reply

