Chapter 50 Wellspring (continued)

Map ReadingWhen the Princess was alone, she opened the book and studied the map.  “Where do I find this well?” she asked the King.  He gave her the sign of Aquarius, the water bearer, and declared “I am the living water.”

Livia was not impressed.  When the Princess tried to show Livia how the signs of the constellations spoke of the King, she warned the Princess about astrology, and told her not to get interested in ‘that stuff’.  The Princess replied, “Listen, I follow what I read in the Bible.  I’m not going to heed astrologers, or go off reading horoscopes – but these are signs that speak of the King!”

After Livia left, the Princess spoke to the King.  “I really respect Livia, but on this we will just have to disagree.  I know you would not give me the sign of Aquarius if it would lead me astray” she said.

Together they looked out over the desert at the night sky, at the stars that bore witness to Him.  The King said;

“They are lights in the vault of the sky, that serve as signs to mark sacred times, and days and years.”  Genesis 1:14.

He explained the sign would mark a time and place for a future not yet arrived at.

The heavens are telling of the glory of God;
and their expanse is declaring the work of His hands.

Day to day pours forth speech,
and night to night reveals knowledge.

There is no speech, nor are there words;
their voice is not heard.

Their line has gone out through all the earth,
and their utterances to the end of the world.  Psalm 19:1-6

He pointed to the stars and said “I called each of them by name”.  His finger stopped at the constellation of the water bearer and pourer, Aquarius.  The star Saad al Melik, the record of the pouring forth, shone brightly from the right shoulder.  It is I of who Aquarius speaks”.

 He determines the number of the stars
and calls them each by name.  Psalm 147:4

Water jarHer eyes strayed from the stars back to the King, and the desert behind him which seemed endless.

She said “You know the way to the desert wells.  Don’t let my life ebb away here. Lead me through the desert, to a city where I can settle. I am going to follow you, follow you all the way home, wherever home is.”

The King replied “Study my word and stay with me. Do not stop in the desert where there is no water, or lose heart. I will bring you home”.

 “What makes the desert beautiful said the little Prince, is that somewhere it hides a well.”

Antoine De Saint Exupery.

Leave a Reply

