The Post Turtle

Post TurtleSome people think God’s an old man with long white hair, sitting on a cloud waiting to smite us.  What do you think of Him?  I have discovered that He’s real,  wants us to trust Him and actually does have a sense of humour.   One day He told me “If you see a turtle sitting on top of a fence post, it didn’t get there by accident.” 

It was in the context of a situation where I had bitten off a bit more than I could chew, by taking on a job in my industry that I had no experience in.

It meant I had to rely on Bert, my predecessor to get me up to speed – quickly.  I hated it through fear of being left helpless.  Have you ever been in a situation where you are vulnerable and you’ve had to learn fast?

Bert knew things that I didn’t, that I needed to know.  That’s the BLIND spot.  In a learning situation, that’s where you are most vulnerable.  I’ve been attacked instead of helped in the blind spot, and it’s a bad place to be.  I promised myself I’d get the knowledge in whatever way I could, and learn fast.  Anything not to be reliant on a person.  When I met Bert I didn’t know him well enough to trust him, and this was the second time in 5 years that I’d replaced him in a job.  The first time, he refused to train me, saying he didn’t have time.  So the second time around I didn’t know whether he was going to help me, or harm me.

In communication, there’s a thing called ‘Johari’s Window’, where knoweldge is divided up into four categores:

CERTAINTY.  Things that I know that you know,

The BLIND spot.  Things you know that I don’t know,

HIDDEN.  Things I know that you do not know,

The UNKNOWN – Things that we all don’t know.

God is in charge of the UNKNOWN spot.  In the Kingdom, He told me things from the UNKNOWN, and I recorded His words and signs in the Kingdom story.  So there were things God had revealed to me about Bert, before I ever met him or knew him.

The things that I knew, that Bert didn’t, I kept HIDDEN.  He didn’t want any “uncomfortable moments”, and nor did I for that matter.  I would have kept what I knew hidden for Kingdom come, except God got in the picture.  He’s been in many roles in the Kingdom story; as Counselor, Shepherd, King, Guide, Friend, Lord and Father.  This time God was being a matchmaker.  He had His hands full with us because we didn’t particularly like each other.

Bert and I were both reading “Word for the Day”.  He’d bring me his spare copy.  God spoke to both of us out of the “Word for the Day”.

God talked about “a post turtle”, and a woman who was in a situation where she needed help but kept shouting, ‘I’ll do it myself!’  He askedAre you like that? Trying to do it all on your own?” and then He said; “Somebody within your reach knows something you need to know; something you’ll never learn on your own. They’re your mentor. Get close to them. ”

There are two stories about the post turtle.  The first story is a joke which is usually about politicians.

An old rancher is talking about politics with a young man 
from the city. He compares a politician to a "post turtle". 
The young man doesn't understand and asks him what a post turtle is.
The old man says, "When you're driving down a country road and you see 
a fence post with a turtle balanced on top, that's a post turtle. 
You know he didn't get up there by himself. 
He doesn't belong there; 
he can't get anything done while he's up there; 
and you just want to help the poor, dumb thing down."

Don't joke about TurtleThe second story is more in line with what God told me; “If you see a turtle sitting on top of a fence post, it didn’t get there by accident.”

In the novel The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell,  Father D.W. Yarborough, the leader of the first Earth expedition to another planet, refers to post turtles in the context of seeming anomalies in nature and regards them as proof of the existence of God, specifically of God trying to get our attention.

My story about the turtle is told in Chapter 57 Message from the King, where God was trying to get my attention.

 

Leave a Reply

