Chapter 58 The Well of Salvation

John 7-37The King had designed a series of seven feasts for His chosen people.  The feast of tabernacles was the seventh and final feast.  It was to remind the people of Israel of their 40 years of desert wandering after the Exodus.  On the last day of the feast of tabernacles, the Jews drew water and poured it out before the Lord.

On the last and greatest day of the festival, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink.
Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.” John 7:37.

In the dry and weary Earth only the King could give living water and satisfy a thirsty spirit.

The Princess had come through her own desert, and guided by the King had come to the second of a series of desert wells.  “With joy you will draw water from the wells of Salvation” the Lord had promised.  The trouble was, the Princess did not have any joy at drawing the water from this well, only frustration and confusion.

The day after the Princess had found the well, Prince Mentor invited the Princess to a New Year’s Eve party, making it clear he wasn’t asking her out.  The Princess decided to go, taking Princess Eve.  At the party, Prince Mentor told her the woman he had wanted to come had not turned up.

Put off, and dubbing him “Prince Charmless”, the Princess decided to see the New Year in at Princess Eve’s place.  She walked out without saying goodnight, leaving Princess Eve to tell him she was leaving.

Later, she went into the Kingdom fuming as she threw the bucket away. “I don’t like him.  He knows nothing!  I am not thirsty for the water from that well.  It is bitter.”  The King sighed in exasperation as He handed the bucket back.  The Princess felt rejected.  At that moment she did not like Prince Charmless, or even the King for that matter.  “He is telling me you have chosen someone else for him.  Where does that leave me?”  The King consoled her “I am sorry, that was not my will.”

Frowning, she said “Is this Isaac?  He is not making me laugh.  Every time I see him, he talks about the mystery woman he is interested in.  There is no sight of her, and I would have expected to see her on New Year’s Eve.  Why does he think I am interested in his love life?  I told him right at the start that I did not want to discuss romance or church at work.  He has not listened.  Is he telling me all this stuff so I will keep my distance?”  The King replied “He thinks you are genuinely interested in what he has to say.  You have to either ignore him, or ask him to be quiet.”  She replied “If I do that, I fear he may not be helpful to me at work.”

Instead, annoyed and with a disdainful look on her face, she sent him a message the next day that was designed to get back at him. “I am so glad you’ve got a girlfriend. It makes it easier for me to relax around men when I know they’ve got someone and aren’t interested in me.  I look forward to meeting her.” “There, go analyze that.  See how interested I am in you – NOT” she snapped as she sent her reply.

She looked at the King who was shaking His head and sighing. ‘Well, if he is telling the truth, he does not need to worry about ME, for I still love Ishmael, and I am waiting for Isaac, the one you promised.  HE can’t be Isaac.  If he is playing a game, and lying through his back teeth, then as far as I am concerned, he deserves what I am dishing out. I can play that game too.”

He looked at her with disapproval. “Father, what do you want me to do?” she said, exasperated.  “Let righteousness guard your heart, not deception” the King chided. “Well, how about you go and tell this wonderful Prince you have found me that as well. He is supposed to hear you.”

Leave a Reply

