Choose this day …

WChoicee live in a sea of possibilities and choices.  Some choices are bigger than others, for instance who we will marry, or where we will spend eternity.  Sometimes we are the answer to someone’s prayer. 

On Easter Monday we picked up a guy from the side of the road, I’ll call him Shaun.  This guy didn’t have a lot of choices to make at this point of his journey – just stick his thumb out or keep walking north.  He was stuck in the North Island at Easter without any money or transport.

We had a choice to make too.  Should we turn the car around?  We’d gone past him, but 3kms up the road the Lord asked my husband to turn the car around and go get him.  I’m glad we obeyed.  We found out he’d been standing for two hours waiting for a lift, and hadn’t eaten for two days.

While he was sleeping his friend had ditched him at a motel, taking his pack and wallet.  Shaun told us his friend had got onto meth, which he hadn’t known abour prior to their reunion at Easter.  He noticed how much it had changed his friend, and had a bad feeling about it.  The bad feeling hadn’t stopped him being robbed.

choose wiselySomeone at Taupo (the town he’d been stranded at) contacted a church at Tokoroa – a town further north.  The church told him they could help with accomodation until he could get back to the South Island, he just needed to put $40 towards it.  We gave Shaun the $40, plus the food left over from the long weekend, including some Easter eggs.

I asked Shaun if he knew who was helping him, and what Easter was all about.  Shaun didn’t know, so we explained how Christ had died on the cross for our sins.

Click here if you want to know about salvation.

Shaun realised he had a choice to make, and somewhere between Taupo and Tokoroa, he made Christ his Lord.  It’s the biggest and most important choice he has ever made or will make.

If you know you have a choice to make about the Lord, then don’t delay.  It’s getting dark out there.  Choose this day whom you will serve.

Now to the next most important choice, who we will marry.  I chose my first husband, and it didn’t work out.  When I came to know the Lord, I asked Him to choose the next one.  The Lord promised I would remarry, and told me He had a guy already chosen for me.  In the Kingdom I referred to this man as the ‘chosen’, and (after I met ‘Ishmael’) I called him ‘Issac’.

‘Isaac’ had been praying for a wife.  When he arrived in my life seven years later, he believed the Lord had someone else for him.  It tripped me up big time.  Isaac didn’t know he was ‘the chosen’, and I was grumpy and not saying anything.  I expected if I knew about him, it would logically follow he would know about me.  Not necessarily!  Chapter 62 Choosing the Chosen tells the story.

Sometimes we are the answer to someon’e prayer.  Happy choose day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

