The matchless matchmaker

matchmakerMy second marriage is a bit different because we had God acting as the match maker.  It is a match made by God in Heaven, but lived out here on Earth.  How did He get us there?  God led me through the story I write.  Over seven years He told me things along the way about the man he had chosen for me.

In the story, I referred to the man as “the chosen”, and when I met him, “Prince Mentor”.  The Lord has asked me to put the story online.

When I did meet “the chosen”, it wasn’t love at first sight.  There was no romance.  I presumed that because I had been told about his nationality, and the fact that our paths would cross in a circle, that he would know about me.   Not so.  He presumed the Lord had some other woman for him, and kept telling me about her.  It was a mind game for me.  I got really obstinate and decided not to reveal anything the Lord had told me about him.

To complicate matters, I had a friend named “Ishmael” who loved me and gave me words of affirmation.  He spoke my love language!  He was only a friend because he was from a different culture, and a moslem.  It was never going to happen and I’d told him to go back to his wife, but we remained friends.  Ishmael bolstered my self esteem.  I basked in the warmth of his approval, feeling wanted and desired.  It was completely different with “Isaac”, the chosen guy.  I felt unwanted because of his actions.

I ended up talking to them both until the Lord made me put a stop on Ishmael.   The Lord said I needed to tell Isaac that he was the man God had chosen for me.  I said no to God, repeating what Isaac had said – “he didn’t want any uncomfortable moments.”  Nor did I.   In fact I said a bit more than ‘no’ to the Lord.  The King in my story turned into a lion and basically made me tell him the story.

I was afraid he might trample my pearls into the mud.  It had happened to me once before, when it hadn’t been about a match being made by the Lord.  That time I’d been trying to build some boundaries, without knowing how.  The Lord assured me that this man was not a pig.  He told me the parable about the merchant who sought after pearls, and found one of great price.

Again, the kingdom of heaven is like a merchant seeking beautiful pearls, who, when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he had and bought it.”  Matthew 13:-45-46

So with white knuckles I obeyed the Lord and sent the story to the man.

Chapter 68 The King’s demand tells what happened next.

Leave a Reply

