Gifts and talents, in His Majesty’s Service

fcdIn the last chapter I was helped by a woman who had a gift of knowledge.  It was the first time I’d ever encountered anything like it, and it was quite an experience.  Actually it was incredible.

This woman was a stranger who had come from 8,000 miles away.  God gave her the answer to a question that I’d asked him, that she had no way of knowing.  She also told me and my home group I was to be married soon.  No one knew that except me.  She said “You have dreams. God will speak to others out of these dreams.”

The apostle Paul told us to earnestly desire the spiritual gifts, but we have to have love for one another.  Without love, these gifts are nothing. (1 Corinthians 13).

My spiritual gifts are writing, faith, and discernment (the ability to distinguish between spirits).

The rise of the New Age has attracted many people, but
The idols speak deceit
diviners see dreams that lie;
they tell dreams that are false,
they give comfort in vain.
Therefore the people wander like a sheep
oppressed for lack of a shepherd” Zechariah 10:2

I want to use my writing, dream and interpretation gift to help guide hurting people to the truth – to a Kingdom that is real, and a King who is real.  I want others to know He can hear them, and if we are spirit led, we can hear Him.  Everyone has their own journey and story, and I hope me sharing mine will help others.

Spiritual gifts exist within the church to equip his people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up.  Here are the gifts:

Concerning Spiritual Gifts

Now about the gifts of the Spirit, brothers and sisters, I do not want you to be uninformed. You know that when you were pagans, somehow or other you were influenced and led astray to mute idols.

There are different kinds of gifts, but the same Spirit distributes them.  There are different kinds of service, but the same Lord. There are different kinds of working, but in all of them and in everyone it is the same God at work.

Now to each one the manifestation of the Spirit is given for the common good.

To one there is given through the Spirit a message of wisdom,
to another a word of knowledge by means of the same Spirit,
to another faith by the same Spirit,
to another gifts of healing by that one Spirit,
to another miraculous powers,
to another prophecy,
to another distinguishing between spirits,
to another speaking in different kinds of tongues,
and to still another the interpretation of tongues.

All these are the work of one and the same Spirit, and he distributes them to each one, just as he determines. 1 Corinthians 12:1-11

Do you know what gifts and talents are?

This is a useful site for finding them out: http://www.kodachrome.org/spiritgift/

Have you been helped by the Lord through somebody’s spiritual gift?  I’d like to hear your story.

Spiritual Gifts

4 thoughts on “Gifts and talents, in His Majesty’s Service

  1. 1996 I was told to give away Bibles in prayer so I went to the flea market and old drive-in theater and begin watching people as they approached. One man in particular had long stringy hair & the whites of his eyes were yellow. He was tall – in his 70s, and I knew that was the person I was to meet. I gave him my finest leather Bible and assumed I’d finished by mission literally feeling uncomfortable enough to only say “today is the day of salvation” and that was it. He didn’t leave! In fact, another woman came up and saw him tearfully staring at the Bible. She put her arm around him and said “today Is the day of salvation.”
    Needless to say when Carl spoke I almost fell over – he had it thick German accent and asked if we ladies knew each other?
    I took him to the church he described to me – not my own and went with him through the new believers class as he excepted Christ and was baptized as my son and I joined him at Suncoast Cathedral in St. Petersburg Florida.
    He had been in Nazi prison guard in World War II. He never told his story to me – I always hoped you would.
    The main thing is my now ex husband never believed the Holocaust happened. It was a final attempt to resolve some extreme behavior when Carl and his wife Wilma came for Christmas dinner the following year. But I still don’t understand why it didn’t fix our marriage that is for another time. Wilma accepted Christ and eventually their daughter as well who wrote the script for the television show called MANNIX (sp?)
    Thank you again for your ministry the gifts of the Spirit have been on my mind this past week! Victoria

    Like

    • Hi Victoria,
      Thanks so much for sharing this. Did you know obedience is the highest form of worship? Carl’s day of salvation, and the resulting salvation of his family came because of your obedience. I am not surprised though that he could not talk to you about his time as a Nazi prison guard. Did he tell your ex that the Holocaust did indeed happen? If your ex could not believe something like that, and displayed some extreme behavour, then it probably was never going to work out with him. I’ve learned from my time with a narcissist that it’s not possible to have a healthy relationship with them. Did you know the husband I am (happily) married to now was born in St Petesburg Florida. Small world!
      God bless, Jo

      Like

      • Again on Wednesday night I had a word of knowledge that the girl sitting next to me works for specific company and I was correct. That ministered to her tremendously and too myself as well. The subject was gifts and the full armor for spiritual warfare. We have such an awesome connection with the spirit between the body of Christ!

        Like

      • Hi Victoria,
        Words of knowledge is a brilliant gift, I don’t have it at all 🙂 My mother is in hospital right now and I asked the Lord what I could say to her as I wasn’t sure of her salvation. I asked Him for wisdom according to James 1:5, and He gave me exactly the right word for her. Brilliant!

        Like

Leave a Reply

