Chapter 66 Dreams and visions

Jesus and 7 starsIn the time of Isaac, Jesus the water bearer poured the living water of healing deep into the heart and mind of the Princess. It was a time of joy and active dreaming.  One dream stood out from the rest, why she did not know.  It was a very prosaic dream, her friend Janet in the Isle of Wight was eating soup!  When the Princess awoke, she looked it up in her dream dictionary.  Eating soup meant “You will have many good chances to marry”. The Princess laughed as she closed the dream book. Well, that was true.  Perhaps the King wanted to add His words to the dream.

That night, the Princess walked into the Kingdom looking for the King, and found Him in the midst of seven huge candle stands.   She could hear the roar of the oil that fed the candle light. He was dressed as a Priest King, in a robe reaching down to his feet with a golden sash around his chest. His dark hair glowed white in the warm pleaidesbrilliance of the light.   Outside His window, which overlooked the cosmos, were seven stars which represented seven churches.

The King bade her to unpack and examine the dream more closely.  Why did Janet come into her dream?  “I heard the prayer you made” the King said.  “You heard my prayer at Godshill?” she asked.  He nodded, replying “You prayed according to my will.”

God’s Hill

Godshill was a pretty English village on the Isle of Wight.   It earned its name from a series of unexplained incidents in the 14th century when the church was being built.  The timber kept getting moved from the bottom of the hill to its present location at the top of the hill.  The third time it happened it was taken to be a sign from God that the church should be built on the hill.  So the church was built on the hill, and the place was named God’s hill.

Janet had walked the Princess and her children up the hill into the ancient church.  The Princess looked around the church appreciatively, as she soaked in the atmosphere. It was as if the building remembered the years of worship, which permeated the place.  The voices had changed over the centuries, but the message about the King remained the same.  Wordlessly Janet had given them each a candle to light so that they could pray. Taking the lit candle, the princess had prayed for happy marriages, both for herself and Janet’s family.

“What is your will for marriage?” the Princess asked, seeking His face.  The Lord replied For men and woman to be united as one.”

“At the time of creation the woman was taken out of man.  The man said of the woman “this is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh”.  That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh. 

This is a profound mystery—but I am talking about myself and the church.

Husbands, love your wives, just as I loved the church and gave myself up for her.  Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to me, the Lord.   Each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.”  Genesis 2 and Ephesians 5.

The Princess replied “That is a big message from Janet and a bowl of soup.  I will respect Isaac, knowing he will love me as he loves himself.  I promised you I will submit to a man who loves me enough to die for me.”  Lighthouse 1She sighed as she said  “If only men and women knew what you intended from marriage.  But now, the dragon is tearing your marriage covenant apart.   What can the righteous do when the foundations get destroyed?”

The King replied “This is a hill to die on.  The righteous must stand their ground over the covenants.  Ascend the hill, and stand.  Swear by what is true, not false.”  Psalm 24.  This is an attack against me, and my church.  The church at Ephesus defended the hill, they taught about man and woman becoming one flesh in marriage.

The Princess walked outside.  The King drew the Princesses eyes to the star cluster named the Pleaides, which she could see with her naked eye.  It lay in the constellation of Taurus, to the left of and under the feet of Orion.  The King explained the meaning of the name.  It means “the congregation of the Judge or Ruler”.  He spoke a word of warning; “If you love me, you will hold to my word.  I have warned the church that if it leaves its first love, I will remove it from being a light  – just as the light of one of those seven stars in the Pleiades no longer shines.”

To the Church in Ephesus,
These are the words of him who holds the seven stars in his right hand and walks among the seven golden lampstands. I know your deeds, your hard work and your perseverance. I know that you cannot tolerate wicked people, that you have tested those who claim to be apostles but are not, and have found them false. You have persevered and have endured hardships for my name, and have not grown weary.
Yet I hold this against you: You have forsaken the love you had at first. Consider how far you have fallen! Repent and do the things you did at first. If you do not repent, I will come to you and remove your lampstand from its place.  Revelation 2:4-5

The Princess frowned. “I see the Church as being like a group of lighthouses.  It would be bad if the light from one went out.”  She paused, thinking.  “I know the next question you want me to ask …” She saw the King’s lips twitch into a smile. “Why did you move the foundations at Godshill?”  The King replied; “I moved the foundations for I want my church to be seen. A city on a hill cannot be hid.”  The church He referred to was the world wide body of Christ.

 “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hid.
Both do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it gives light unto all that are in the house.” Matthew 5:14-15

She smiled. “It was only a little candle she gave me” she said to the King.   “Don’t despise the day of small things” He replied, smiling.  The King’s smile faded into a serious expression as He looked into her eyes intently.  “Now you have lit the candle, put it on the candlestick.”

For you will light my candle: the Lord my God will enlighten my darkness. Psalm 18:28

-heavens-door-dolores-develde

Heavens door, by Dolores Develde

Leave a Reply

