Chapter 68 A promise fulfilled

almond tree branchIn the winter the Princess went to a place she had dreamed about, at a place near Otaki forks. It was a beautiful spot in a bush clad valley.  The lodge they stayed at lay in a bend of the road that followed a river.  Isaac’s friends from the army were there.  It was like meeting family.

Another Princess was there in the group, an attractive blonde who watched them.  She had dated the Minstrel, and later had become a close friend to Isaac.  The other Princess had encouraged Isaac to pray with her, and later told him he was the one God had chosen to be her husband.  Isaac felt manipulated and told her he was not.  That was why he had been so leery of the Princess at first.  Isaac thought it was going to be a bit awkward when he saw the Princess was going to share a room with her.  The Princess was blissfully unaware of what had gone on before.

The next morning the Princess was out on the balcony enjoying the winter sunshine when she heard the words ‘Almond trees’.  Her ears pricked up and she went to find who was speaking.  The owners of the place talked about how they had planted Almond trees between the house and the river. Interested, she went to have a look at the trees.  There were blooms on the branches.

The word of the Lord came to me: ‘what do you see, Jeremiah?’
I see the branch of an almond tree’ I replied.
The Lord said to me, “you have seen correctly, for I am watching to see that my word is fulfilled’”  Jeremiah 1:11-12

She talked to the owner of the house, saying “I have dreamed of this”. The lady told her that there were more Almond trees planted on their land up the road, where the road formed a big loop.

Later, they went on a walk, and stopped along the side of the hill to meditate and be still. She thought about the almond trees and scribbled down a poem as they relaxed, waiting on the Lord.

Otaki GorgeYellow grass, purple hills, grey sky
Wounded knee
I hear your voice calling me …

At the house by the brown river, the almond tree blooms
In winter’s pale sunshine
I hear your voice reminding me …

That in your house there are many rooms
On your walls are paintings, signs and promises
Visions from the Kingdom we forgot

Watcher of men
You have watched and waited
For the promise you’d one day fulfill

Now I’m sitting on the side of a hill
Pondering and sitting very still
As I think of what blooms in the winters chill

I bow before you
I and the Ponga fern
As I hear your words in the gentle air

Softly you say “I dream too.”

dream-lovely-nice-sayings-life-quotes-pics

Leave a Reply

