The place of a staff stuck in the ground

Otaki river

Otaki river

Have you ever had a dream come true?  I found myself in a place I had seen in a dream – a particularly auspicious dream.  In Chapter 40 Almond Grove, I dreamed I was staying at a lodge of sorts, which lead to an Almond grove.  According to my dream dictionary, to dream of Almond trees meant I could look forward with certainty to a happy marriage.

There is a proverb that says “Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life.” Proverbs 13:12.

About four years later I met the man I was going to marry, and one weekend in the winter we stayed at a lodge with a group of people from his army course.  I learned that our hosts had planted some Almond trees on the lodge grounds.  The trees weren’t as spectacular as the grove in my dream, but the surrounding land at Otaki Gorge was every bit as beautiful.  Otaki Gorge was the location in New Zealand which represented The Shire woods in Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings movies.

Otaki in Maori means the place of a staff stuck in the ground.

I liked the woman I shared a room with at the lodge, even though there was some shared history with a couple of men we’d met along the way.  (I was blissfully unaware of that at the time.)  “Isaac” thought it was going to be a bit awkward when he saw I was sharing a room with her.  Before I came along, she believed ‘Isaac” was God’s intended for her.  She encouraged him toProverbs 30-6 pray with her, which he did – until she told him he was the one God had chosen to be her husband.  Anyway, that’s why “Isaac” was so leery to begin with, telling me he didn’t want any uncomfortable moments with me!  It really put me off to begin with.  I don’t blame her for her wish, but you have be be careful when bringing God into it.  There are some lessons to be learned from this; pick prayer partners of the same sex.  In fact this is an occasion where same sex partners are good!  The other lesson is; don’t say God said stuff when He didn’t.

“Every word of God is flawless; he is a shield to those who take refuge in him.
Do not add to his words, or he will rebuke you and prove you a liar.”  Proverbs 30:5-6

In the Kingdom dreams do come true, if you seek the Kingdom first.  There is a promise in the Bible; “Seek your happiness in God, and He will grant you your heart’s desire.  Psalm 37:4”    It’s true.  If you read my story, you’ll see how good God was to me, and I am no more deserving than anyone else.

 

Leave a Reply

