Leaving town, for God’s sake

choiceYou have a dream job, a great family, and you are happy in the town you are living in.  Would you give it all up, and uproot your family to go and do what the Lord wanted?

I did.  Ten years ago.  It wasn’t easy.  My best friend thought it was a risky move.  Has it been worth it?  Yes.  Was I comfortable doing it?  No, but I have flown higher and gone further than I would have if left in my comfort zone.

Years before, the Lord told me there were two ways I could go. I could choose a hard yet interesting path, where everything I was given would be tested.   Or I could settle down under His protection and still have His blessing.

Why did I do it?  In the Lords prayer, we pray “Your Kingdom come, Your will be done.”  This was something that was God’s will, and I wanted to do it for Him.  And I’d chosen the harder, higher road.

If you have been following my story, the next chapter is the close of my old life.  I had been asked by the Lord to go to a college in a different part of the country to live as an adult student.

At the start of my journey with the Lord I would have lacked the faith to move north and go to College in mid life.  By the time I met and married Isaac, I had learned that God is faithful, and He always has our highest best at heart.  He is worth it.   And there’s a promise in the Bible that God will reward the people He asks to do it;

And everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or wife or children or fields for my sake will receive a hundred times as much and will inherit eternal life.  Matthew 19:29

I hated the town I left for most of the time I lived there.  I hadn’t been born there, my father had moved us into the area when I was 12.  I’ve had some horrible jobs and relationships in that town, jobs and relationships I put up with because I believed I had no other choice.  It would have been easier to leave if I was still in that situation.  I wasn’t, I had a dream job, good friends and a husband I loved.  It made all the difference to how I saw the place.  The town was no longer a prison, and I was no longer a victim.

There’s a line that Janis Joplin sang in “Me and Bobby McGee”, that goes “Freedom’s just another word for nothing left to lose.”  That’s not the kind of freedom that Christ gives us.  We are free to choose.  God knows its not a choice when there is nothing to miss or leave behind.

Perhaps you are only free to leave when you are truly happy.

Jesus said “For those the son sets free, are free indeed.  John 8:36″  That’s true.  “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free” Galations 5:1. 

Before we go, here are some photos of the town I left, the place where I finally found happiness.

 

My house

My house from the Durie Hill Tower

Durie Hill Lift and Tower

The Durie Hill Elevator and Tower

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Wanganui panorama

Leave a Reply

