That widow who never gave up

This means warI’ve been asking the Lord what he meant by the question he asked “When the son of man returns, will he find faith?  Luke 18:8.

When Jesus asked this question, he’d been describing a courageous, indomitable widow who did not give up her petition for justice.  ‘Grant me justice against my adversary,’ she petitioned the judge in Luke 18:3.  He used her to show us what prevailing prayer looks like,

He told me to read the parable.  It’s been another parable I didn’t like because it left me wondering whether God was like the judge.  But after asking the question about what he meant by faith, I could see he wanted us to look at the widow.

War RoomHe confirmed by sending me to see a movie last night called “The war room.”  Now I had no idea what it was about.  The way it started off, I thought it was going to be a war movie.  No, it was about a widow, a prayer warrior who befriended a younger woman and taught her how to pray without giving up.

This is what this widow prayed;

Raise them Lord that will call upon your name.
Raise those who love you and seek you and trust you.
Lord, we need an army of believers who will stand upon your word above all else.
Raise up warriors Lord, who will fight on their knees, who will worship you with their whole hearts Lord.
Lord, call us to battle, that we may proclaim King of Kings and Lord of Lords.
I pray these things with all my heart.
Raise them up Lord, raise them up!

This is the kind of faith he’s looking for when he returns. This is what God’s army looks like.

The movie was held in a secular movie theatre, and when it ended, the audience clapped.  This is the kind of faith the world respects.

It’s challenged me.  I recommend you go see this movie.

6 thoughts on “That widow who never gave up

  1. Pingback: Good Godwit | The Kingdom

Leave a Reply

