Having ears to hear

When Jesus wanted to communicate truth, he used stories and said it was “for those who had ears.”  How many of us are deaf to God because of unbelief?  It shuts us down because we can’t believe God would want to have a real conversation with us.  And when we do, we don’t always hear in the same manner – or we doubt what we’re hearing.  We’ll trot out our objections with “Yes, but …”

We have to test the spirits.  Because Lucifer can pretend to be an angel of light.  He is completely deceptive.  Don’t go near him.

My spiritual hearing wasn’t that great.  That’s why I constructed my story, so I could keep a record of the things that God told me and check it against the Bible.  God became the main character in “The Kingdom” through me doing that!

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAMy husband hears God’s voice differently from me and wants to hear from him better.  He’s a bit goofy at times, as you can see with these ‘ears.’

We spend our day solving technical problems on computers and computer networks.  He has to think on his feet.  Sometimes he arrives at an answer so quickly I go “How did you get that?

He doesn’t know whether his decision speed is from his thought processes or God’s voice.

Early one morning he was thinking about the day ahead. “God, the other day I asked you about my decision speed getting in the way.  Is it my thought processes, or is it you?  I never heard an answer.  So what is it?” he asked.

John 3″ was the instantaneous reply.  In John 3, Jesus was explaining to a religious ruler what people have to do to see the Kingdom of God.  The verses that spoke the most to my husband were 3:8 and 3:29.

“8 The wind blows wherever it pleases. You hear its sound, but you cannot tell where it comes from or where it is going. So it is with everyone born of the Spirit.”

The same month I watched kite surfers on the beach at the end of my street, as they were borne along by invisible wind currents.  It was on a hot Sunday afternoon a couple of weeks ago.  I didn’t even notice the breeze but they were finding it offshore.  It was a beautiful sight to see them glide across the water.

So it is with us when we are born of the Spirit and are able to hear God, the Holy Spirit’s voice.  When we realise we can hear him, we can actually hear God, it brings joy – and hope.  Our morale and spirits soar.

If we hope in the LORD we will renew our strength. We will soar on wings like eagles; we will run and not grow weary, we will walk and not be faint. 
That’s a promise from Isaiah 40:31.

Wind

Snells Beach, Feb 2016. This is my picture which you are free to use.

The master’s voice

The other verse that spoke to my husband, verse 29, was where John the Baptist, the cousin of Jesus exalts the King.  John is comparing himself as the best man at Christ’s wedding.  29″ The bride belongs to the bridegroom. The friend who attends the bridegroom waits and listens for him, and is full of joy when he hears the bridegroom’s voice. That joy is mine, and it is now complete.”

I can’t find a picture for that – but look at the joy this dog is showing to hear his master’s voice.  It sums it up for me.

4 thoughts on “Having ears to hear

  1. Ahh Jo, your man’s now discovered my operational secret: the ‘mystery of God-incidents’ – John 3:8 and listening to the ‘The Wind’, going where He’s blowin’!

    About 20 years ago I had to dash from from a walk with friends to get about 15mls up Thames valley where parents were to collect their teenagers after hiking. I had to drive through home village but got strong ‘nudge’ to turn left even though I was running late and stop at home. (I learned to follow such urges even as a non-Christian because once when I didn’t follow intuition to take a different route the car I was driving got hit by a new driver who thought they had priority over oncoming traffic when turning at traffic lights!!)

    No-one was at home but very soon after opening the door the phone rang and my son had found a phone somewhere to call saying they were taking about an hour longer than expected! So I realised someone was looking after us…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love hearing stories like that. Bert (hubby) appreciated it too. He’s more responsive to nudges than I am. I analyse everything first, and then the moment can be gone! I hope you are having a lovely weekend, Jo

      Liked by 1 person

      • I too find myself often analyzing something. As I have gotten older and know the word of God a lot more than I used to, my dicernment is much quicker. I still sometimes have to ask is this the Lords push or am I simply wanting it more myself? The word usually will reveal the answers. If not I often go back to the word and hear…either, wait upon the Lord, or be still and know that I am God. If it isn’t urgent then often waiting might be best if unsure!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

